YRUU – High School Group

On this page:


YRUU Overview and Required Forms

YRUU (Young Religious Unitarian Universalists) is our church’s high school youth group. It is open to all high school age teens, including those whose families are not active in our church. The group meets on Sundays from noon to 2 p.m. and occasionally at other times or on other days for special events (see current schedule below).  The YRUU Advisors are Jamila Batchelder, Joe Collins, Qhyrrae Michaelieu, and Kinjal and Erica Majumder.

In order to participate in YRUU, teens and parents must sign and submit the following forms to the Director of Religious Education:

  • Behavioral Policy — WordPDF
  • Medical Release — WordPDF
  • Confidentiality and Notification — WordPDF
  • Outings Permission — WordPDF
  • Movies Permission — WordPDF
  • Lock-Ins Permission — WordPDF

For more information on YRUU, email DRE Jamila Batchelder.

Top of Page


What Members Say About YRUU

Here’s what some of our members say about YRUU:

“A place where UU youth can discuss spiritual, philosophical, and frivolous ideas in a welcoming and non-judgmental atmosphere.”

“Doing fun stuff.”

“What is YRUU? Words cannot describe it, come see for yourself.”

Top of Page


Curriculum

The programming for YRUU is decided by members and varies from year to year depending on the interests of the group (see current schedule). Our program is divided into four major areas of focus:

  • Discussions of philosophical/theological/political topics
  • Educational workshops/guest speakers
  • Fun activities and outings
  • Service projects

However, on any given day we may set aside our planned curriculum to talk about challenges group members are facing in their lives. We see our role as a supportive community as foremost to our mission. In addition to our Sunday meetings, we also have several other events each year including:

  • Lock-ins
  • Poetry Night
  • Valentine’s Day Dance
  • YRUU Lay-Led Service
  • Easter Brunch Fundraiser
  • Collaborative Sunday Service with Rev. Molly
  • Regional UU Youth Conference
  • Summer Service Trip

Top of Page


Schedule

Winter/Spring 2020 Schedule

Except as noted * YRUU will meet from noon to 2 p.m. on Sundays.

Sunday, Jan. 12 Watch “Black Klansman”
Sunday, Jan. 19 Go bowling
Sunday, Jan. 26 CON prep
Sunday, Feb. 2 Discussion on Allyship
Sunday, Feb. 9 Outdoor games (weather permitting)
Saturday-Sunday, Feb. 15-16 * Valentine’s Day Dance and lock-in
Sunday, Feb. 23 SkyZone
Sunday, March 1 Tarot workshop
Sunday, March 8 Prep for lay-led worship service
Sunday, March 15 Lay-led worship service
Sunday, March 22 No meeting
Sunday, March 29 CON prep
Friday-Sunday, April 3-5 * CON
Sunday, April 12 Watch “Colors”
Sunday, April 19 Cook for Loaves and Fishes
Sunday, April 26 Board games
Sunday, May 3 Crafting
Sunday, May 10 No meeting
Sunday, May 17 Hike and creek cleanup
Sunday, May 24 Yard work service project
Sunday, May 31 Plan for retreat

Top of Page